What were you inspired to create/make this year based on something else? (i.e. a pin from pinterest, recipe from a friend, etc.)

As always, when it comes to creating, for me it’s food. I did not, actually, create anything very exciting this year. In 2011 I created a piña colada cake that I’m very proud of, and some other things too. This year my cooking has just been low key, so what I created would probably be MinCat’s foolproof south Indian tasting, nutritionally balanced thingy.

It sprung from a trend that’s been growing ever stronger this year–a craving for south Indian flavours. My main problem with making south Indian food is that it’s heavily rice based, and also involves making three things at a time, which takes up so much time and so many vessels! And then I didn’t have gas for four months, so I really couldn’t cook full on meals. One day I was going to make one of my standard one-dish europeanish meals of lentil stew, when the craving overpowered me and I tipped two tablespoons of Puliogare mix into the cooker with the lentils and veggies. And holy mother of god! I HAD REACHED NIRVANA! Then I ate only that for a few weeks, before settling back into normal food again.

It’s funny, this south Indian nationalism trend I’ve been having this year. I just like hanging out with Tamilians more–I connect faster with them. I want to eat dosai and idli every day. I’m always thinking of ways to make chutney. I don’t want to cook anything north Indian anymore, not even MATAR PANEER! I occasionally make pasta or Spanish omelets, sometimes shakshuka, but that’s it. It’s all south Indian food. I wonder why.

